search instagram arrow-down

A meditation on Four Quartets by T.S.Eliot

This is a meditation on Four Quartets, a long poem by T.S.Eliot. I use the beautiful words of Eliot from the four poems, Burnt Norton, East Coker, Dry Salvages and Little Gidding with silences and the repetition of a key line in the poem as a mantra – At the still point of the turning world there the dance is. The poems were written between 1938 and 1942, the time preceding and during the second world war. A time when Eliot was wondering if he should ever write poetry again as Western Civilization seemed to be crumbling about him, and bombs were dropping on London. A deep sense of faith and hope and love pervades the poems.

2 comments on “A meditation on Four Quartets by T.S.Eliot

  1. pennysilva45 says:

    Thank you, Bob. Strangely, I was reading it earlier today! Love to you both, Penny


  2. John Philogene says:

    Dear Bob,

    Thank you very much for this beautiful meditation.

    God bless,

    Kind regards,



Leave a Reply
Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: